shopify analytics tool
  • 										    Helmholtz - Message in a bottle

    Helmholtz - Message in a bottle

  • 										    The Ludwig Prandtl in the harbor of Wilhelmshafen

    The Ludwig Prandtl in the harbor of Wilhelmshafen

  • 										     Open Ship 2010

    Open Ship 2010

  • 										    Helmholtz - Message in a bottle / screenshot

    Helmholtz - Message in a bottle / screenshot

  • 										    Helmholtz - Message in a bottle / screenshot

    Helmholtz - Message in a bottle / screenshot

  • 										    Helmholtz - Message in a bottle / screenshot

    Helmholtz - Message in a bottle / screenshot

  • 										    Start of the Open Ship Tour

    Start of the Open Ship Tour

  • 										    Start of the Open Ship Tour

    Start of the Open Ship Tour

  • 								  		    Helmholtz - Message in a bottle
  • 								  		    The Ludwig Prandtl in the harbor of Wilhelmshafen
  • 								  		     Open Ship 2010
  • 								  		    Helmholtz - Message in a bottle / screenshot
  • 								  		    Helmholtz - Message in a bottle / screenshot
  • 								  		    Helmholtz - Message in a bottle / screenshot
  • 								  		    Start of the Open Ship Tour
  • 								  		    Start of the Open Ship Tour

Research at anchor with the Ludwig Prandtl – Open Ship 2010

From the 12th to 16th of July 2010 the “Ludwig Prandtl” of the Helmholtz Research Centre Geesthacht called the ports of Ostfriesland, and opened their doors to visitors. The core of the floating exhibition: an interactive station on coastal research developed by scienceintermedia.

Numerous large and small visitors took the opportunity to inspect the digital exhibits, research tools and to get first hand informations by the Helmholtz scientists about the use and the function of the instruments used.

Several stations were built up nn the “Ludwig Prandtl”. The “Ferry box”, a box which is installed on two container ships and a ferry in the North Sea and wwhich regularly collects data – among other things, temperatures, waves, wind and salt – was one of the exhibits shown. In the computer program “coastDat” Data from the North Sea is captured since 1958. So the scientists are able to map the wind and air pressure, the water level and tide of the recent recent years. This enables, for example, to determine which coastal areas must be protected in the event of a large oil spill is most urgent or the likely effects of future storm surges.
Playfully, the visitors on board the “Prandtl” followed the current conditions of the North Sea with the “Virtual Message in a bottle” developed by scienceintermedia.

While the “Open Ship Tour”, the research ship anchored in the ports of Wilhelmshaven, Norderney, Leer and Delfzijl. On accompanying evening events everyone could get informations about current research topics and afterwards exchange ideas with scientists from the Helmholtz Institute for Coastal Research. Among other things, the institutes directors Professor Dr. Hans von Storch and Prof. Dr. Franciscus Colijn presented latest research results.

shopify analytics tool
  • 										    Helmholtz - Flaschenpost

    Helmholtz - Flaschenpost

  • 										    Die Ludwig Prandtl im Hafen

    Die Ludwig Prandtl im Hafen

  • 										     Open Ship 2010

    Open Ship 2010

  • 										    Helmholtz - Flaschenpost / screenshot

    Helmholtz - Flaschenpost / screenshot

  • 										    Helmholtz - Flaschenpost / screenshot

    Helmholtz - Flaschenpost / screenshot

  • 										    Helmholtz - Flaschenpost / screenshot

    Helmholtz - Flaschenpost / screenshot

  • 										    Start der Open Ship Tour

    Start der Open Ship Tour

  • 										    Start der Open Ship Tour

    Start der Open Ship Tour

  • 								  		    Helmholtz - Flaschenpost
  • 								  		    Die Ludwig Prandtl im Hafen
  • 								  		     Open Ship 2010
  • 								  		    Helmholtz - Flaschenpost / screenshot
  • 								  		    Helmholtz - Flaschenpost / screenshot
  • 								  		    Helmholtz - Flaschenpost / screenshot
  • 								  		    Start der Open Ship Tour
  • 								  		    Start der Open Ship Tour

Forschung vor Anker mit der Ludwig Prandtl – Open Ship 2010

Vom 12. bis 16. Juli 2010 lief die „Ludwig Prandtl“ des Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht (HZG) die Häfen Ostfrieslands an und öffnete ihre Türen für Besucher. Herzstück der schwimmenden Ausstellung: die von scienceintermedia entwickelte Station zur Küstenforschung.

Die Gelegenheit, die digitalen Exponate, die Forschungsinstrumente und Messgeräte zu besichtigen und sich von den Wissenschaftlern der Forschungsstelle Küste und des Helmholtz-Forschungszentrums in Geesthacht den Einsatz und die Funktion erklären zu lassen, nutzten zahlreiche große und kleine Besucher.

Auf der „Ludwig Prandtl“ waren mehrere Stationen aufgebaut. Gezeigt wurde eine Ferry-Box, die auf zwei Containerschiffen und einem Fährschiff in der Nordsee installiert ist und über die regelmäßig Messdaten – unter anderem zu Temperaturen, Seegang, Wind oder Salzgehalt – erhoben werden. Im Computerprogramm „CoastDat“ sind Daten aus der Nordsee seit 1958 erfasst. So können die Wissenschaftler den Wind und Luftdruck, Wasserstand und Strömung der vergangenen Jahre abbilden. Dadurch kann zum Beispiel die Öldrift, also die Verbreitung von Ölverschmutzung, nachvollzogen werden. Spielerisch konnten die Besucher auf der „Prandtl“ die Strömungsverhältnisse der Nordsee mit der von scienceintermedia entwickelten „Virtuellen Flaschenpost“ verfolgen.

Im Rahmen der „Open Ship Tour“ ging das Forschungsschiff in den Häfen von Wilhelmshaven, Norderney, Delfzijl und Leer vor Anker. Auf begleitenden Abendveranstaltungen konnte jedermann hautnah in aktuelle Forschungsthemen eintauchen und sich anschließend mit den Wissenschaftlern des HZG-Instituts für Küstenforschung austauschen. Unter anderem präsentierten die Institutsleiter Prof. Dr. Hans von Storch und Prof. Dr. Franciscus Colijn neueste Forschungsergebnisse.